Our Services
Surgery Department
Phone: +632.8888.999 locals 3045 / 3046
Location: 4th Flr., Tower 2

 View Location Map

Among the founders of Makati Medical Center was a surgeon who emphasized the importance of the field. Today, MakatiMed has the most complete and sophisticated surgical equipment in the country. Our Department of Surgery is organized into specialty centers devoted to the surgical treatment of illnesses, injuries, and other disorders.
The MakatiMed Department of Surgery conducted the first heart transplant in 1994, and we were the first to use Harmonic Scalpel or “Ultracision” for Mastectomy in the Philippines. Since 1991, we have done more than 3,500 laparoscopic cholecystectomies, probably the most done by any hospital in the country. On average, we carry out about 2,500 major operations every year, with a fifth done on indigent patients under our corporate social responsibility (CSR) program.

  • Aesthetic surgery
  • Bariatric surgery
  • Cardiac and thoracic surgery
  • Colorectal surgery
  • Emergency medicine
  • General surgery
  • Gynecology
  • Minimally invasive endoscopic surgery
  • Organ transplant surgery
  • Neurosurgery
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopedics
  • Otolaryngology (head and neck surgery, including sinus and plastic surgery)
  • Pediatric surgery
  • Plastic and reconstructive surgery
  • Surgical oncology
  • Trauma and critical care surgery
  • Urology
  • Vascular surgery
  • Cardiac Surgery
  • General and Laparoscopic Surgery
  • Minimally Invasive Surgery (for all major surgeries)
  • Pediatric Surgery
  • Peripheral Vascular Surgery
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery
  • Urology
See: Jose Y. Fores Surgical Pavilion (Operating Rooms)
Chairman: Arnel D. Diaz, MD
Section Heads: 
Ramon S. Estrada, MD (Colorectal Surgery)
Joaquin C. Manalastas, MD (General Surgery)
Catherine SC Teh, MD (Hepatobiliary Surgery)
Wilma A. Baltazar, MD (Pediatric Surgery)
Victor L. Gisbert, MD (Peripheral Vascular)
Aser S. Acosta, MD (Plastic & Reconstructive)
Ramon I. Diaz, MD (Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery)
Francisco T. Agustin, Jr., MD (Urology)